Space City Sprints - April 14, 2018

SCS 2018 has been CANCELLED

Come celebrate our 28th Anniversary Space City Sprints! The 28th SCS will feature a 1000-meter course and a variety of events from singles to eights, Juniors to Masters. The $35 entry fee covers each participant and includes lunch. You may enter 3 races, plus the “hat race.” The Mixed Open 8+/”hat race” event will race crews will by picked by a random draw. The schedule in the registration packet is a starting point for planning purposes; however, the actual schedule will be posted on race day. If only one competitor registers for an event, we will give you the option to scratch or we will run your race in combination with another event.

The Information and Safety meeting (for all rowers and coxswains) will be held at 6:45 am and racing will begin at 7:30 am. After racing concludes, don’t leave! As always, there will be a lunch for all paid participants immediately following the regatta. Commemorative 2018 Space City Sprints t-shirts & other goods will be available for sale at the race.

*** The deadline for entry is Saturday April 1, 2018 ***

Sponsor Space City Sprints

Any and all questions regarding sponsorships can be directed to See you on April 14, 2018!

Driving Directions

To get to the regatta, drive south of Houston on I-45 to the NASA Road Bypass. Follow the Bypass to NASA Road 1 and head east for ~2 miles to Clear Lake Park. Turn left at the park entrance and drive around the park road until you see Mud Lake. BARC members will be at the boathouse Friday, April 10th from 6:00pm – 8:00pm if you would like to bring your boats to the boathouse. We are able to lock your boats overnight in our side yard if needed.


BARC is always in need of great volunteers! Hosting Space City Sprints is no small task; if you are BARC member, we need volunteers for dock masters, boat launch drivers, finish line, officials, and the registration table, among others. If you are not on our BARCList email distribution, please contact a board member.

BARC Distance Challenge

Latest Results...
Posted in News


From past to present!
See our Photos


Latest Weather

Board of Directors

Ruth Shapiro
Vice President
Susie Jones
Nigel Millard
Marietta Dahanayake
Members At Large
Jared Null
Anne Shoemaker
Greg Wood
Clifford Dacso